Increase Distance - 100Km Goal - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by vvanherk, Aug 6, 2011.

1. vvanherk

vvanherk New Member

Hello All.

I'll provide a little background info so you know where I'm coming from.

I'm 5'8", 165lbs, 45 years old male. I'm in half decent shape, maybe 10 - 15lbs could be lost, and I work out at the gym with weights on a regular basis.

I enjoy cycling, and did quite a bit when I was 25 and younger. No competition, just pleasure, and also the fact I had no car so I had to cycle to college for 3 years :)

About 12 years ago, I decided to get back into riding. So, I bought a nice bike, and started going for some rides. Life of course got busy, and I really did not get out to much. The bike was collecting some dust....

However, over the last couple of years, I have made more of an attempt, and this year has been pretty good (for me anyway). Keep in mind, I'm just an amateur, and really just doing this for the pure enjoyment of cycling.

A few years ago, a 20Km - 30Km ride was pretty much all I was interested in. Last year was better, and at the end of the year I could do 40Km in under 2 hours. I live in Ontario Canada, so the outdoor riding season is not 12 months long :)

This year I bought a Cyclemeter app for my iPhone to track things, and have been going out maybe twice per week. I went for some 40Km rides, then did a few 50Km rides, then did some 60Km rides, and a couple of rides ago broke the 70K mark.

At the beginning of the year, I as averaging maybe 22Km/h, and now I am able to average maybe 24Km/h while also increasing the distance, so that has been pretty cool. I might have to stop for 5 minutes for a stretch and bio break, but that is typically it.

I would like to be able to go for 100Km with minimal to no stop time, and getting my average speed up to 25Km/h. I'm pretty close, and feel it is attainable, but I could use some input for helping me get the rest of the way.