Index Shifting

NewRider22

May 28, 2004
Alright, again I'm new to the road, although I've ridden some other bikes for years. Can someone take me to school on how the index shifting works, cause I really have no idea.

Thanks

Originally posted by NewRider22
Alright, again I'm new to the road, although I've ridden some other bikes for years. Can someone take me to school on how the index shifting works, cause I really have no idea.

Thanks

There is a click position of the gear shifting mechanism that positions the derailer in the correct position for each cog.

Some allow you to shift single or up to three gears by pushing the break lever further to the side. On tripples, some allow you to shift to "half" possitions, which allows the full range of rear gears to be used from one chainwheel without rubbing on the front der. guide.

The main advantages are that you can shift very quickly, and without moving your hands from several positions. Important when riding in a pack.

Is it possible to change the indexing space of the shifters?

As mentioned about 'half shifts', I assume that it is made possible for triple chainrings.

I intend to make my front shifting 'click' faster each time I shift from my smaller chainring to the bigger one.

Whenever I shift to the larger chainring, some noise will occur because I need to shift quite a distance before I reach the 'first click', then after that another big distance is needed for the 'second click' to reach the outer chainring.

I tried two other bikes, one with ultegra brifters+derailleur, the other is 105 setup. They both have very 'short clicks'. But mine needs a fair amount of distance to reach the 'second click'.

Hope I make sense, any advice?

- its a revolutionary thing that SHIMANO invented and was then copied shamelessly by Campagnolo.

:)

- wait wait ... take number take number ... can kill me , but take number ....

pistole said: