Indoor Mag Trainer Vs Rollers

autoboy

May 21, 2003
i have always used an adjustable minora indoor trainer for the back wheel (even though it likes to eat perfactly good tyres) but the other night some of the guys were swearing by Rollers for indoor work and since i have never used rollers i was wondering if anyone had an opinion on which is better?????

:confused:

I'm a beginner, but I've got both since want to train during the week but basically only ever see the sun through my office window during winter.

The rollers are much more entertaining because I have to pay attention to stay on the darn contraption (I'm not worried about injuring myself, but I wouldn't want to damage my nice timber floors ;)) and if anyone was watching me they'd be highly entertained too! The main thing that surprised me was the high level of resistance compared to my mag trainer (a Tacx Cycleforce One). The effort required on the rollers feels similar to about the 5th level of resistance on the mag trainer. I guess it's because my bike has a long frame, so I've got the rollers at maximum extension (they certainly spin more freely when the band isn't pulled so tight). That would normally suit a large road bike which would presumably have a large, powerful rider, but I'm only little.

The mag trainer is great when I want to do something while watching telly, or while reading, or surfing the internet (or following the TdF online). I need to have something else to do because it's incredibly boring, even when doing intervals.

But I still spend much more time on the mag trainer than on the rollers. (Oh, and rollers eat tyres too.)

Thankyou so much for that advice it has helped imesly, i am now thinking it might be worth havign a look at purchasign a set. I to get terribly bored on the mag trainer and find that on many occasion the rain and wind outside are more inviting than an a couple of hours bored out of my mind.