Indoor/Outdoor Power

VARacer

Dec 30, 2007
I am a new member. However, I have been learning from this forum for some time now.

I have been riding regularly for about 18 months. For the first year+ I never rode indoors on the trainer. I now have young children so most of my training is done inside on the trainer. I usually get out once a week now to ride outdoors. I started training seriously about 6 weeks ago (i.e., actually doing structured intervals, etc.) and immediately purchased a PT. I weigh about 77 kg and my indoor power numbers are as follows.

MSSP ~ 1310 watts
5 sec ~ 1210 watts
30 sec ~ 825 watts
1 min ~ 610 watts
5 min ~ 370 watts
FTP ~ 295 watts

I am not looking for - nor obviously deserving of - a backslap here. Nothing specials about those numbers. However, the perplexing thing to me is that my outdoor rides appear to be at LESS power. I bet you all did not see that coming.

For example, if I ride for an hour my NP will be around 255 watts. If I ride 2 hours the NP will be around 240 watts. My max sprint effort outside is around 1000 watts. Further, I appear to have difficulty attaining my other numbers as well.

Originally I thought this was because of the fact that I ride outside alone and do the same route every time. However, clearly I ride my trainer alone. I am at a loss to explain this situation. Any guidance would be appreciated. I am getting fairly discouraged.

My goal is to race this year. Given the above situation, unless such races are in my garage on the trainer, I may have to rethink my goals. :)

Thanks in advance.

Same power meter used for indoors and outdoor results?

Are outdoor numbers just training or full on max efforts for the duration?

Alex Simmons said:
Same power meter used for indoors and outdoor results?

Are outdoor numbers just training or full on max efforts for the duration?