Installing Recessed Brakes on an Old Frame

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Harris, May 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Harris

Harris Guest

I want to install "recessed" brakes on my Classic SL frame. After reading Sheldon's article on the
    subject, I see there are a couple of options.

Since I can't bear the thought of drilling out "Big Blue's" fork crown, I'm leaning towards using
    the rear brake on the front, and atttaching the short recessed nut inside the steerer.

Has anyone experienced problems with this method? Is the nut more likely to loosen or fail when
    used this way?

BTW, I've been using Dura Ace (single pivot) brakes for 20 years and never had a complaint. This is
    until I tried dual pivots on another bike. Now I'm spoiled.

Art Harris

Tags:

2. Art Harris wrote:
    > I want to install "recessed" brakes on my Classic SL frame. After reading Sheldon's article on the
    > subject, I see there are a couple of options.

[http://sheldonbrown.com/gloss_r.html#recessed]

> Since I can't bear the thought of drilling out "Big Blue's" fork crown, I'm leaning towards using
    > the rear brake on the front, and atttaching the short recessed nut inside the steerer.
    >
    > Has anyone experienced problems with this method? Is the nut more likely to loosen or fail when
    > used this way?

I haven't heard of anybody having a problem with this.

> BTW, I've been using Dura Ace (single pivot) brakes for 20 years and never had a complaint. This
    > is until I tried dual pivots on another bike. Now I'm spoiled.

It is true that dual-pivots are more powerful, but that is not the only part of the system that is
    superior to your old brake system, and just replacing the calipers won't make all that much
    difference.

Here's some boilerplate I wrote on this topic:

A caliper brake system consists of 4 parts:

•The levers •The cables •The calipers •The brake shoes