Installing Shifters to new handlebar....

lohsnest

Oct 10, 2004
Well here's the scoop... I have never done any installations save for a few minor adjustments here and there. Probably the most complicated thing I have ever done is to install my own cassette and chain. I am a novice when it comes to being a greasemonkey. That said, I need some tips on transferring my shifters and brake levers to my new carbon bar. These are Campy shifters. I can probably figure out how to unwrap my bar (duh!!!), but that is about it..... will I need to make any adjustments to the shifters or will they be okay, as long as I remount them on my new bar? I have a new Kestrel carbon. Are there any considerations?

Thanks in advance....

Runce

I don't know, but while you are waiting for your answer, look around at parktool.com or sheldonbrown.com to get an idea of the steps involved and you should get an idea of what is involved.

I suspect as long as you can loosen the clamps for the shifters without removing the cables you should be able to do it without needing to readjust anything.

lohsnest said:
Well here's the scoop... I have never done any installations save for a few minor adjustments here and there. Probably the most complicated thing I have ever done is to install my own cassette and chain. I am a novice when it comes to being a greasemonkey. That said, I need some tips on transferring my shifters and brake levers to my new carbon bar. These are Campy shifters. I can probably figure out how to unwrap my bar (duh!!!), but that is about it..... will I need to make any adjustments to the shifters or will they be okay, as long as I remount them on my new bar? I have a new Kestrel carbon. Are there any considerations?

Thanks in advance....

Runce
Maybe look at the campy support web site. OR PARK TOOLS web site (best bet).