insulin pump

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by jon_e, Jul 12, 2004.

1. jon_e

jon_e New Member

just wanted to see if anyone had any experience riding with an insulin pump. Just got mine "installed" and just got myself a new bike. And was wondering if anyone had any advise or suggestions.

Tags:

2. nutbag

nutbag New Member

that's a "tuffy"

I can't help you, and if you don't get any other replies, you might wanna try the "road cycling" and/or the "training & nutrition" forums on
    http://www.bikeforums.net/ , they have a much bigger audience.

3. martin_j001

martin_j001 New Member

Hey jon_e! I was wondering the same thing when I started riding again shortly after starting on the pump. I have found that the semi-hard GPS/phone/camera cases can come in handy if you don't mind a little extra bulk in your jersey pocket. You can find these cases at almost any outdoors/sporting goods stores and usually find one that fits your pump pretty well. I have had no bad experiences with this and would probably use this again if I were to start doing larger group rides (higher chance or wrecks, so more need to protect the pump). Currently, and most often, I use a small ziploc baggie that i also carry my drivers license and health insurance card and emergency numbers in, and I simply stuff that in my jersey pocket with the tubing running around/under my jersey. Wherever you decide to keep your pump while you are riding, try to keep it where it won't be damaged during a fall (one reason why I find jersey pockets/middle of the lower back to be a good place--a couple wrecks later the pump is still ok).