Interchanging pedals

Diatad

Jul 16, 2007
Greetings

I'm new to road biking and sometimes, for orientations sake, want to take my bicycle shorter distances (5-12mi) to a friends house or any place i can safeguard my new ride. The SPD shoes i have are awkward to walk in and i would prefer to avoid it if not training. Is it conventional for people to switch pedals on their bikes? Should i be saving the bike specifically for training and buy a used, 30 lb, nonliability?

There are platform pedals that incorporates SPD/CB clipless mechanism. Check them out.

You might try touring or MTB Shoes. They are usually made so that you can walk comfortably.

Diatad said:
Greetings

I'm new to road biking and sometimes, for orientations sake, want to take my bicycle shorter distances (5-12mi) to a friends house or any place i can safeguard my new ride. The SPD shoes i have are awkward to walk in and i would prefer to avoid it if not training. Is it conventional for people to switch pedals on their bikes? Should i be saving the bike specifically for training and buy a used, 30 lb, nonliability?
Look at these: http://www.performancebike.com/shop/profile.cfm?SKU=2275.
They're a little heavy and don't look sporty on an expensive road bike, but they'll work for what you want. I personally use 2 bikes for the exact same reason. I have an old '97 Diamondback WCF MTB with street tires I bought for a few hundred bucks used, for beating around town or out with my daughter and I keep my road bike just as it is... sweet.:D

Diatad said:
..Is it conventional for people to switch pedals on their bikes?
Don't know exactly HOW common it is, but I do it quite often. It's really not a big deal as long as you remember that the left pedal has a reverse thread(turn clockwise to remove) and that you have the correct tool (they can be fairly tight, especially if they haven't been removed before).