Interesting side effect from starting to ride again

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by DeanC, Aug 9, 2004.

1. DeanC

DeanC New Member

A couple of weeks ago I took my '89 Bianchi Limited (7 spd hyper-glide, shifters on the down tube, baby) down to the shop, got it tuned up and got myself back on the road again. The 10 years and 60 lbs or so since I last rode seriously mean that my idea of "long" and "fast" are different that they were in the early 90's but even just two weeks of being back in the saddle have me feeling great. My energy level is through the roof, I feel stronger and my jeans are getting tigher around my quads and looser around my waist already. :D

I've noticed one interesting side effect though that I wonder if anyone else just starting (or just returning to) training has seen. Without changing the number of covers on my bed, or the temperature in my bedroom, since I started riding again I've been waking up in the middle of the night because I'm too hot. My guess is that between my metabolism being up in general and all the muscle rebuilding that must be going one while I sleep, I'm just cranking out more BTUs at night than I was two weeks ago. Have any of you experienced something similar?

Dean

Tags:

2. TechJD

TechJD New Member

not just in the middle of the nite :) you just notice then
    you will be puting out more all the time
    my kids have noticed it on me while holding my hand
    "Daddy your hand is warm"

3. tomUK

tomUK New Member

Hyperglide - those were the days. I swear there will be racing bikes in heaven with hyperglide on them.

4. DeanC

DeanC New Member

That's kind of scary, actually. I'm already the guy in shorts when everyone else is reaching for the polar fleece. If I start putting out more heat during the day I'm afraid my clothes will start to smolder. :eek:

5. eortiz

eortiz New Member