Ironman training -- where to begin?

zippogeek

Aug 21, 2004
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to these threads and to cycling for that matter. Your insights would be appreciated...

I've lost 81 lbs. and I'm gunning for a lifelong dream next July at Ironman Lake Placid (very hilly)! I'm not looking to break the sound barrier -- my only goal is to FINISH, as I am raising at least $32K for disease research if I do!! I run like a glacier, so if I can buy time for the marathon by finishing the bike sooner that will help.

I have a basic tri bike (Q. Roo). I'm fairly large, 5'10"/217 lbs. My legs are stronger and bigger than avg. due to years of carrying around so much blubber :eek: !!

Finally, my questions: For Ironman distance (112 mi), what type of training should I do? Heart rate? MPH? Cadence? Watts? What parameters are important (for ME, not Lance Armstrong)? What would an ideal computer be for me? I don't mind paying serious jack for a wireless unit, provided that it gives me USEFUL data and won't confuse the bejeezus out of me, or make me micromanage every stroke.

Also, when will the white-hot burning sensation in my legs stop? :eek:

Thanks to any who can shed some light!

Cheers,
Jason

zippogeek said:
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to these threads and to cycling for that matter. Your insights would be appreciated...

I've lost 81 lbs. and I'm gunning for a lifelong dream next July at Ironman Lake Placid (very hilly)! I'm not looking to break the sound barrier -- my only goal is to FINISH, as I am raising at least $32K for disease research if I do!! I run like a glacier, so if I can buy time for the marathon by finishing the bike sooner that will help.

I have a basic tri bike (Q. Roo). I'm fairly large, 5'10"/217 lbs. My legs are stronger and bigger than avg. due to years of carrying around so much blubber :eek: !!