Is a maximum of 100miles enough to do 150mile event?

FLETCHER

Oct 28, 2003
I am training for the etape - which is in two weeks - The maximum distance I have done is 100miles. The etape is 150. I am now winding down. I have been doing about 120miles a week for the last 3 months - averaging around 15-16mph. Have I still got a chance at completing the etape. What sort of distances do people do leading up to a long endurance event?

Originally posted by FLETCHER
I am training for the etape - which is in two weeks - The maximum distance I have done is 100miles. The etape is 150. I am now winding down. I have been doing about 120miles a week for the last 3 months - averaging around 15-16mph. Have I still got a chance at completing the etape. What sort of distances do people do leading up to a long endurance event?

Questions:

Did you do 100 miles in one ride recently?
Is the terrain of this ride similar to what you've been training on?

For long endurance events, a goal of 75 - 80 % of total distance three weeks prior to race day is common (that is assuming this ride is a race).

As a general rule of thumb (rules of thumb are not to be an exact science), a person can often do 50% further then their extended training ride. However, this again is based on the long ride being three weeks prior to the event.

You may fit into the 50% rule if you did the 100 miles recently. However, if you're long rides are 65 miles, you may have used your 50% rule just to make it to the 100-mile point.

150 miles is a long ride. No matter when you've achieved 100 miles, if you're training at 120 miles a week, you'll suffer like a dog to hit 150 in one ride.

I hope that helps. :)

I guess it depends how long you have been training for it, but i would have recommended at least 2 150 mile rides.

With it being so close to the event I would suggest doing a couple of 100 mile rides at slightly higher cadence pedaling and of course careful attention to diet.