Is indoor trainer useless for me? Any benefits of IF<0.6 rides?

hmronnow

Aug 12, 2006
I train too inconsistently to deserve a powermeter, but could afford one and am a number-neard by profession. This profession takes 70-80 hours a week, so I've taken the challenge to see what level of CTL I can maintain with very limited training time (currently 30 TSS/day with TSB around -30).

Main part I get from 1h30 to 2h lunch-time rides at IF=0.95-1.00 (these rides are the basis for estimating FTP to 260W), which rewards me TSS of 150 to 200. Rides contain 20 mins of 280W L4 climbing or/and 5x1min at 350-400W.

I have tried to add some 'bonus' TSS by riding the indoor trainer late night after kids (and wife) go to bed. But it doesn't work. Here are the issues and questions:

1) The main problem is that I have MUCH lower power indoor than outdoor. Outdoor, I can without too much effort do 10min at 300W or go 'forever' at 200W. Indoor 300W is painful in the legs, and I have a hard time holding 200W. Its almost as if 200W indoor feels like 280W outdoor. Can this really be true? Is there any posibility that powermeter doesn't work indoor?
(powertap 2.4 on blackburn trainer trackstand ultra)

2) A possible explanation for the power-difference is that outdoor I generally spin with 100-105 rpm, without need to focus. Indoor I find that cadence hard to keep, and end up 85-95 rpm. Could it be that I output similar muscle force indoor/outdoor, but for some reason can't get the legs spinning indoor?
Changing to higher gear doesn't work - just gives faster muscle-fatigue.