Is it best to get bike shorts

Discussion in 'Australia and New Zealand' started by steveo2004, Jan 21, 2005.

1. steveo2004

steveo2004 New Member

Hey all I am new to bike riding and I was wanting to know would it be best to get bike shorts? and if so what type and would you get the ones that fit right or one size down for best fit?

And also being a male what would be the best way to stop your you know what from saying hello to the world as much?

Tags:

2. Ian Wright

Ian Wright New Member

Firstly, I recommend bib brace type shorts as they stay in the correct position, ie, the chamios does bunch up, however they are expensive A$100 upwards. Just starting ordinary cycling shorts might be a better bet as bibshorts are for the serious.

Brands:
    I use ASSOS, but they are an expensive top end brand, however ,there are many other brands on the market and once below the top end quality differences are minimal as I believe the main difference is found in the chamios construction.

Other considerations:
    Underwear - you should never wear underwear with cycling shorts. They are specially designed to be worn next to your skin. If you do wear underwear, you will probably end up with some uncomfortably sore areas and you will not be as comfortable on your bike as you could be. (It goes without saying that shorts should therefore be washed after every ride. You should also avoid wearing anyone else's shorts for hygiene reasons.)

Fit - cycling shorts should fit (lycra) - loose material will rub and could eventually cause sores or blisters. Also your you know what will not say hello to the world.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
    IW

3. cycleski

cycleski New Member

I agree with Ian about the bibs, they are best for the long ride as more comfortable and less restriction on the lungs for the hard push.