is it ok to ride in the cold...

greenhornbiker

Jan 17, 2008
Just curious, are there any concerns/hazards to be aware fo when riding (road bike) in below freezing temps? I am new to the sport and unsure??

greenhornbiker said:
Just curious, are there any concerns/hazards to be aware fo when riding (road bike) in below freezing temps? I am new to the sport and unsure??
If the road is clear of snow and ice, then there's really nothing out of the ordinary to worry about. Dress appropriately, of course. That will likely take some experimentation to get right for you.

greenhornbiker said:
Aside from the obvious icy roads as long as you dress yoursef up properly you should be fine.

Wear lots of layers so you can take a couple off when you get going and gloves are essential to stop the hands turning blue. Try and find a thin hat too to go under your helmet, covering the top of your head is important for some people but everone agrees that covering your ears is essential becuse in low temps it can be agonising to have your ears whistling in the breeze.

A nice tip that I picked up somewhere to keep your feet warm is to put on your socks then put a Tescos bag or other plastic bag over your foot and then put another pair of socks over the top. After a few hours you do get a bit of a boil in the bag effect but it certainly keeps them warm.

The only other thing that I could add is if your friends lead you up a steep climb that leaves you breathing heavily in cold air. I ended up with pneumonia last winter because of it. :( If I had controlled my breathing or used a lower pace going up the hill I would have been fine. Lesson learned for me. :)

Felt_Rider said:
The only other thing that I could add is if your friends lead you up a steep climb that leaves you breathing heavily in cold air. I ended up with pneumonia last winter because of it. :( If I had controlled my breathing or used a lower pace going up the hill I would have been fine. Lesson learned for me. :)