Is it possible to "be good" at cycling even if you were previously unathletic?

caligrits

Oct 15, 2005
I asked this question in Yahoo Answers, but didn't get much feedback. So here I go....

I was the classic non-athlete growing up. Made fun of for not being able to play basketball. Didn't make the tennis team. Dabbled with track but finished last every race. Dabbed in martial arts but I got sick of it.

Therefore I am currently picking up cycling as a quarterlife crisis thing, but it's a slow process.

Sometimes I wonder if I just don't mentally and physically have what it takes to grind and practice, and I wonder if my brain and body are capable of learning motor skills, and handling the work of training.

The funny thing is, I'm not bad in academics. I have a professional degree but not practicing the field, and I can handle academic pressure like Shaquille O'Neal handles basketball pressure; that is, I don't feel it.

But put me under athletic pressure and I wilt.

I'm human too; shouldn't I be able to pick up a sport? It seems like everyone in America has sports talent (or the ability to learn motor skills quite easily). I don't just want to participate; I want to have enough skill to feel competent, or be able to be a contributing member to the team, etc.

But is athleticism just not possible to learn later in life if you haven't already as a kid? It's tough when your parents never really encouraged you in that direction because they predicted that it wasn't your "natural talent." Even my mom tells me not to go too hard for fear of me getting hurt.

Do I just not have it in me? Was it never meant to be? Or is there hope?