is it too late for a 31 yr old to become a pro rider?

cycleaddict

Jan 21, 2011
I'm kiran 31(he) from the himalyan country Nepal( the land of Mount Everest 8,848m) I'm not a pro bt i wud like becomin a pro rider does any 1 ve any idea wer sud i go for tht? I do take part in local races. I like climbing uphill think Im born for uphill and I'm good in uphill( poor in downhill).I do 20km(2km steep uphill) evry day and 80km(16km uphill 600 mtrs climbing which I finish in an hr) every 1ce a week minimum.
Kiran

Reactions: haleylx4
Your health and endurance are larger factors than your age. If you can keep up with or surpass younger riders you clearly have the ability.

Age I don't think matters that much but obviously I couldn't see a someone of 31 starting out and then riding the Tour-De-France with the main groups, however they could still ride in lower professional groups. My friends dad is in his 50's and does professional riding still.

I think you do not have to worry yet about your age because at 31 the body is still good to undergo rigorous training. You can do anything you desire that is your choice. People older than 31 are making their dreams come true be it in sports, hobby or whatever goals they may have.

Age doesn't matter to me. You could be 40 and still make it into the pros if you got the motive and the energy to still undergo through vigorous and hard training.

ZXD22 said:
Age doesn't matter to me. You could be 40 and still make it into the pros if you got the motive and the energy to still undergo through vigorous and hard training.
And the right genes. You're leaving out what may be the single most important factor in jumping from a good amateur racer, to a pro on the world circuit.

And age does matter. To everyone. It's hard to ride Father Time off your wheel, or chase him down on a break.