Is knee pain normal when switching to clipless pedals?

halfpint

Aug 22, 2006
In preparing for clipless pedals, I started riding this week with the ball of my foot over the center of the pedal, where it will be with clipless, instead of my foot being further forward on the pedal, as it has been in the past inside the toe cage I've used. I know I may need to adjust my seat height but is this normal to feel pain in and around the knees until I get used to the new position? I feel like I'm putting more strain on my knees and upper quads than I did with my foot slightly more forward on the pedal. Any suggestions?

I was told to use 'easier' gears for a few rides after changing to clipless until the new muscles used get used to being used more.

Is 'easier' gears higher or lower?

Ginny in Denver
05 Specialzed Comp

imagesinthewind said:
I was told to use 'easier' gears for a few rides after changing to clipless until the new muscles used get used to being used more.

Is 'easier' gears higher or lower?

Ginny in Denver
05 Specialzed Comp
An easier gear is a lower one, with less gear inches. Use a bigger cog at the back and pedal faster, instead of slower. As to knee problems, it could be saddle height, fore-aft, gearing etc. It usually means your seat would be too low. If you have your inseam measurement, you could set the saddle height correctly. Otherwise, move the seat so when the cranks are parallel to the seat tube, when you put your heel over the pedal axle, your leg is very close to full extension.

easier gears whould be the ones that use a higher cadence...

you shouldn't have knee pain from your clipless pedals... you may need to go back to the shop and make sure that your cleats are on straight and that everything is properly alligned. If it hurts its wrong...

halfpint said: