Is Mongoose Bad???

ess17

Jun 4, 2004
I am a total beginner to this sport, so sorry for the beginner questions.
Recently I went to a bike shop and rode a Giant MTX 260 DSClick here for Giant
(I know this is a kids bike basically, but I am a small framed female and it fit me well according to the bike store and I am 24 so I won't be outgrowing it)

I have been looking for other brands that have a full suspension beginner mountain bike in the same price range or cheaper ($300 or less). I came acroos this Mongoose Renegade
Click here for Mongoose
(There is also a Mongoose for a little cheaper at 179 on this website.)
When I was growing up, I thought Mongoose was a good brand to have, but I have also seen that Mongoose sells bikes at places like Target. This made me wonder what kind of bike company Mongoose is and what you guys think of them? Obviously the price is cheaper, but I don't want to get a bad bike and have to replace it soon.
Any other suggestions on models like this would be appreciated.

Thanks!:cool:

Some Mongoose's have just been recalled due to structural problems. I would recommend going to a local bike shop and asking them what they have for a beginner. I just bought my nine year old daughter a Trek for about $300 that is a good beginner bike. I don't know how tall you are but my daughter's getting close to five feet already, so we didn't buy her a kid's bike, but rather a small adult bike. Specialized makes one too, here's the link for it: http://www.specialized.com/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=6014&JServSessionIdroot=wdgf4je31g.j27008 this one's $440, but most bike shops will cut some off the cost. If in the end you choice is between the Giant & the Mongoose, go with the Giant.
Good luck & happy riding.

to answer your question, yes