Is my bike frame too big??

BexK

Oct 25, 2012
Hi,

I am just getting into triathlons at a reasonably competitive level and I was given advice to buy a Gios Gress carbon bike on trademe as was told this was a particularly good deal (this is the bike: http://www.trademe.co.nz/sports/cycling/road-bikes/medium-53-56cm/auction-526359901.htm).

It arrived yesterday have put it together and looks great, however I took it into the bike shop tonight and was told that the frame is too big for me! The listing on the auction says would suit 5"2-5"6 and I am approx 5"3 - the frame is 53cm. I was wanting some advice as to if I should be considering sending the bike back - is it too big? Or anyone who has experience with the Gios brand?

Appreciate any advice!

Cheers,

Bex

There are too many unknowns to say if your bike frame is too large or a reasonable fit. Body types vary considerably.

Just going from years of fitting riders...you are 'close'. Not seeing you on the bike, I can't make an educated call. I would not take the guy's opinion at the shop as gospel just yet. Go to another shop and get another opinion. Ask about suggested adjustments. Maybe even find a place that performs bike fittings and see where you are in relation to that 'perfect' fit.

You may benefit from a shorter stem, saddle offset change, more or less stem spacers, shorter reach/more shallow drop handlebars, etc. to dial in the fit.

I've often seen the shorter riders (male and female) riding a frame that was a centimeter or two too large without issues. Sure, there's a bit less seat post showing than is considered fashionable these days, but as long as the reach and stack height can be made to comfortably work there's no big deal.

The bigger question is the bike being comfortable under YOU, not the eye of someone else.

BexK said: