Is Octalink a tapered spline???

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by wilmar13, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. wilmar13

    wilmar13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking of buying a SRM crank, but I need to be able to switch the crank from my road race bike to my TT bike (can't afford two cranks)... I do this now with my dura-ace crank, but I would not want to with tapered cranks because of wear, chance of stripping something, etc...

    Is the Octalink spline interface a psuedo-press fit similar to ISIS or the traditional square taper or does it rely on only the spline and crank bolt, i.e. it is easy to take the crank on and off???
     
    Tags:


  2. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    9sp Simano Octalink is splined and uses an 8mm alen bolt
     
  3. wilmar13

    wilmar13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it is splined :p .. I am wondering if it is a tapered spline or straight... if straight it should be a piece of cake to remove, just like the newer integrated crank/BB styles, if tapered it will be a bitch to do it with any frequency.
     
  4. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    oh, sorry, :) do you want me to trust my eye? Because I've got some sitting here
     
  5. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    the splines are straight, but the rest of the axle has a very slight taper

    I do mine up pretty tight, and they're a minor pain to get off; nowhere near as easy as 10sp. I definitely wouldn't want to do it regurlarly.
     
  6. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    I'm not sure it's obvious in this picture, but there is a subtle taper below the splines




    ......................................................this one

    [​IMG]
     
  7. wilmar13

    wilmar13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah I guess in hindsight a simpler way of phrasing my question would have been: Do you need a crank puller (or self extracting bolts) to remove a crank arm with an octalink spindle?... it looks like you are saying yes.
     
  8. 531Aussie

    531Aussie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    137
    yep, it uses an 'auto puller' washer thingy on the bolt, and it takes a bit of 'oomphf' to get it moving.
     
  9. artemidorus

    artemidorus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you definitely need a puller if you haven't a self-extracting bolt.
     
  10. hd reynolds

    hd reynolds New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    The later. Coz of the close tolerances there will be some resistance, hence a puller would be needed, or, self extracting bolts are sufficient since resistance is not that great compared to, say, a square taper.

    http://cycle.shimano-eu.com/publish/content/cycle/seh/nl/en/technical_service/faq_s/general_faq_s/what_is_octalink_.MainContent.0002.Image.gif
     
Loading...
Loading...