is this interval training?

sparknote_s

Jun 13, 2004
I have been building a base for about 2 months now. For the past two weeks I've only had time to do about 20 miles per day, I hope that counts as building a base. Anyways, today I did what I thought was interval training.

I did 4 minutes easy/ 1 minute max speed I could hold, and did that four times. Next, I did 4 minutes easy / sprint to 30 mph for about 5 seconds. I did that part four times as well.

Should I do more of these, or longer duration, or what? I finished these pretty quickly so I just rode at a moderate/hard pace the rest of the way.

Any tips? (Yes I will be getting a book, so any tips other than that :))

You could do many workout in intervals. You workout isn't clear because the 1 minute interval isn't long enough to improve your sustainable LT power. You have to do at least 10 minutes 4 to 5 sets. As the season progresses, increase to 20 minutes and 2 sets.

For sprint intervals, try something like 15sec to 20sec duration ALL out for 10 sets.

For base miles, count how many hours you are on the bike a week. 10 hours to 15 hours is good.

sparknote_s said:
I have been building a base for about 2 months now. For the past two weeks I've only had time to do about 20 miles per day, I hope that counts as building a base. Anyways, today I did what I thought was interval training.

I did 4 minutes easy/ 1 minute max speed I could hold, and did that four times. Next, I did 4 minutes easy / sprint to 30 mph for about 5 seconds. I did that part four times as well.

Should I do more of these, or longer duration, or what? I finished these pretty quickly so I just rode at a moderate/hard pace the rest of the way.

sparknote_s said: