Is this normal? "Valves"

Sparrow421

Oct 12, 2014
So i am by no means an expert on bicycles but i ordered a tube for my bike thinking i was just getting an average tube but learned the hard way today there is more than just the standard "schrader valve" apparently what i got is a "presta valve" but i am a little confused here. All of the presta valves i have seeing online have a thing that pops up and allows air to be released but they always say "it doesn't come all the way out" well mine does.... I took some pictures of the valve today and i need to know if this is broken or not. (the green stuff is from the slime tube that i ordered)

I need my bike up and running by Friday so a fast answer would be greatly appreciated.

Reactions: Wared1933
i also grabbed a box by accident on the prestas when I needed shrader. I think the little plug on top unscrews if you turn it hard enough. I believe they just have a stop. would not be too concerned if you able to re install it carefully without stripping the threads.

The pictures aren't that great, but that doesn't look like presta, that looks like a Dunlop valve

Here's a pic:

http://bikeoption.com/img/types_valves.jpg

I appreciate the replys. Like i said i needed it up and running by this friday, i went to walmart looking for an adapter and the guy told me that more are stolen than sold so they dont stock them very often so i just grabbed another tube with a schrader valve. I guess i will go ahead and order the adapter and toss the tube in the back tire.

Are these dunlop valves reliable? I don't want to go put it in my bike and get half way down the road just to have a flat tire again.

Sparrow421 said:
Are these dunlop valves reliable?
The version you seem to have, with a short section of piping pushed over the valve core to act as one-way valve, isn't that great. The ones with an ball valve are easier to inflate and are more resistant to ageing.

Quote by Sparrow421: