Just bought a giant sedona

SparkErosion

Aug 6, 2009
Hello everyone! My name is kevin and I'm completely new to bikes in general, I dont' know what brand is good what isn't, but I think that brands that sell at places like walmart (schwinn), or (mongoose) are inferior? What about the brand giant?

I went into a bike shop today and spent $380 (plus tax) on a sedona giant. I'm 5'7''. He mentioned to me something I didn't know, that when you get off your bike you stand between the vertical bar, but it can't be too high or too low.

I'm not sure if this is a good price or not, I've done some research and found the MSRB for a sedona giant is $500, and then I've seen people pay only $300.

I would love to learn more about the giant brand, I assume this is a good quality brand, better than what you'd find over, say, walmart?

I'm 21 as well and I am into my second week of my weight loss/healthy lifestyle regime. I took up running for the first week but noticed I was getting severe pain in my shins that ache every now and then, and after I'm done running severe pain. I was told if I continue with this I could possibly get hairline fractures in my ankle, so I decided to go biking instead of running. And I think its more fun. So far I've lost 6 lbs, (I'm 234), I talked to the owner of the store and he said that I shouldn't pop the tire on the bike being too heavy...my dad said I could.

Anyway, my last bike was a NEXT I bought at a place like walmart, It was fun but it seems like every bike I get a thorn or something gets in the tire and it goes flat. Unfortunately, I didn't have the funds to have them flat proof my tires on this new bike, I was told also that a certain type of flat tire proofing makes the tire harder to grade, I noticed this too with my first bike. However, they said they use a different method and an (innertube I think?) that doesn't have this problem.