Just had a crash and need new forks...

ajimmyv

Jan 11, 2007
Hi,

I'm pretty new to road biking and whilst I've been researching other components to upgrade my Trek 1200 with I didn't think I'd need to buy new carbon forks until a car pulled across me today and I went straight into the side of him!

The forks have basically ripped in half and i need to get some new ones. I thought the bontrager ones that came with the bike were pretty good but now may be an opportunity for an upgrade?

I don't know what I need to be looking for when it comes to things like steerer length, integrated headsets, tube diameter blah blah blah - but i'm guessing these would be fairly standard with holes to reattach the front brake etc.

Could anyone help? I don't want to off the road for too long (once my shoulder has stopped hurting) so am looking to make a fairly quick purchase - could you recommend any? What should be the spec I'm looking for?

Any help is greatly appreciated

Cheers
James
ego bruised, bike smashed!!

ajimmyv said:
Hi,

I'm pretty new to road biking and whilst I've been researching other components to upgrade my Trek 1200 with I didn't think I'd need to buy new carbon forks until a car pulled across me today and I went straight into the side of him!

The forks have basically ripped in half and i need to get some new ones. I thought the bontrager ones that came with the bike were pretty good but now may be an opportunity for an upgrade?

I don't know what I need to be looking for when it comes to things like steerer length, integrated headsets, tube diameter blah blah blah - but i'm guessing these would be fairly standard with holes to reattach the front brake etc.

Could anyone help? I don't want to off the road for too long (once my shoulder has stopped hurting) so am looking to make a fairly quick purchase - could you recommend any? What should be the spec I'm looking for?

Any help is greatly appreciated

Cheers
James
ego bruised, bike smashed!!