Just plain green...

DancenMacabre

Jul 17, 2009
I'm a newbie here and to any kind of real bicycle riding also. As such, please share your advice.

All I've done so far is basically ride my bike to & from work several times a week since last month. Mind you, it is all of a mere 2 miles away so I bet it hardly counts as training. In fact the longest I have ridden might be a whopping 5 miles. Sad but true :(

My little commute aside, I see all these people riding up the nearby mountains and hills with their colorful gear and neat bikes. I would love to be able to do that without killing and/or hurting myself. Plus I know someone who did a 100 mile ride and that's another thing I want to do. Again, with style and speed rather than struggling and limping to the finish. By the way I am not just on some diet or trying to lose weight instead I want to be super fit.

I have got a road bike and have done much, much reading. I found this power training book on a friends shelf and think it sounds like a great way to train. Unfortunately the training plans in this book, even the newbie ones, seem geared for people who have trained for at least a fair while.

Locally someone is selling a unit called a 'powertap pro'already on a wheel for a very good price. I plan to buy this wheel and use it on my new road bicycle.

Can you all share your advice to me on what I should do to get started? I know in some other sports that the usual recommendation is to do lots and lots of slow, steady miles. Some people call that base training or the like I think.

Is this true in road cycling also? Is it better for me to just forget the power meter and ride slowly for distance for several months? Or would I be better off getting the power unit and formulating a training plan immediately?

For the record, technical details ( if explained in detail and with patience ) do not intimidate me.