just started my fixie project. couple Q's.

Jdub410

Feb 4, 2008
after searching the web for months for a good/cheap vintage bike to turn into my first fixed gear, i found two in my grandpas shed. an old raliegh and an old sears. i decided on the sears, because it was a better fit for me.
i will eventually replace everything with new parts; but right now my main goal is to get on the road asap. which means saving as much money as possible. ive read all 8 pages of the single speed subforum, all of sheldons site, and the wiki site as well, but i am still confused on a couple things (im a complete noob).

-the bike has a single chain ring. is it possible for me to clean it up and reuse it?
-most of the saddles i look at on ebay do not include the seat post. my bike has an old san marco, will it just pop off, and a new seat will go on? or do i have to buy a new post too?
-can i take the old gears off and just reuse just one of them?
-off topic, but does anyone have experience pulling a kid trailer on a fixed gear?

id appreciate any help i can get! TIA

i was going to attach a picture of what im starting with, but i cant find the attachment button.. ?? am i blind, or does it not exist?

A new seat often does not come with the clamp. New seatposts have an integral clamp. However, if the frame of the seat is made of two 5/16" wires the new seat may clamp right in to the existing clamp.

What kind of rear hub is it? How does it shift?

Jdub410 said:
after searching the web for months for a good/cheap vintage bike to turn into my first fixed gear, i found two in my grandpas shed. an old raliegh and an old sears. i decided on the sears, because it was a better fit for me.