Just started out- advice

MBailey93

Aug 10, 2014
Hey Guys,

Just recently got into road biking. I am 20 years old, 6ft and weigh about 80kg. I have been going on regular rides for the past two weeks and previous to that I haven't done any serious riding in years. However I feel great on the bike and have felt a real improvement in my riding in this short space of time

Yesterday I really pushed myself and went out on a 45 mile ride which I completed in 3 hours averaging 15mph but I don't really know if this is anything special. The ride was pretty testing, I live in the Pennines so there were plenty of steep hills!

I feel like my time was pretty good however i have no idea how it compares as I am still fairly new to this. I would really like to get into some competitions and races at some point. How far off racing am I?. Whats a good standard to be at? Should i start thinking about what i eat before and after rides etc Anyone got any suggestions in terms of gear as well..i dont have clipless pedals or proper cycling gear, just been borrowing my dads old bike at the moment.

Cheers, Matt

Originally Posted by MBailey93
I feel like my time was pretty good however i have no idea how it compares as I am still fairly new to this. I would really like to get into some competitions and races at some point. How far off racing am I?. Whats a good standard to be at? Should i start thinking about what i eat before and after rides etc Anyone got any suggestions in terms of gear as well..i dont have clipless pedals or proper cycling gear, just been borrowing my dads old bike at the moment.