just starting. info if I'm doing right or not...

crazyseany

Sep 10, 2008
well I've been riding here and there on and off for last 6 years... mostly family rides.I've decided to try and shed some pounds and get myself in better shape. (i am 33 & 6ft currently 234 down from 258 in about 2 months) I've been watching what I eat and especially cutting fat where I can.well I have limited time to ride and have been fitting it in when I can. I am riding a Giant Sedona comfort bike. we've been going casual riding most of the summer but I want to bump it up a notch when I'm by myself. 3 weeks ago I did 18 miles at a pretty good pace...here's what I did last week and going to try and increase some of my mileages if time allowsSunday-7 miles 12.5mph ave.Monday-8 miles 12.5mph ave.Weds.-28 miles 12.5mph ave.Friday 28 miles 9-10 mph ave. (was with wife and kids pulling a tagalong)will continuing this plan increase my fitness? and reduce the weight? S & M & W were after working 12+hour days...thanks for any help and info you can share.sean

What you are doing is better than nothing, that is, it's way ahead of the guys who sit on the couch and watch TV instead of getting some exercise. It will improve your cardiovascular fitness, but it may not be enough to lose weight... at least not without some serious cutting back on calories consumed.

If you start looking at the number of calories that you burn while cycling, it's actually not that much unless you push either the distance or the intensity of the ride, or preferably both. Now, I'm not saying it's useless, only that you may end up being disappointed. To lose weight via cycling, it has to be way past the leisure riding level. I'm a family man myself, but very few "family" rides I've done or seen others doing even attain the level of leisurely riding, except very sporadically. You literally would burn more calories by walking briskly for the same amount of time.