Just Starting Out

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tanya Miller

Hi guys, I am a beginner that's interested in getting into mountain biking. Thing is, I'm a bit on
the heavy side and am concerned about getting a bike that can stand up to average trail riding even
with my weight (~220lbs). Any suggestions on a make and model that will help get me into the
mountain biking lifestyle? I've heard that the women's bikes from Trek are decent, but wanted to get
a few more opinions. Thanks!

Tanya Miller retorted :
> Hi guys, I am a beginner that's interested in getting into mountain biking. Thing is, I'm a bit on
> the heavy side and am concerned about getting a bike that can stand up to average trail riding
> even with my weight (~220lbs). Any suggestions on a make and model that will help get me into the
> mountain biking lifestyle? I've heard that the women's bikes from Trek are decent, but wanted to
> get a few more opinions. Thanks!

you must be talking about WSD...the women specific design. Those are frame designed for women that
fall within a certain parameter of body proportions. Typically, long legs and short torso. For
sizing, that's a place to start but there are a lot of gals out there, myself included who get a
better fit off a regular frame than a WSD frame. So don't get too sold on that.

A lot of folks here ( amb) don't like treks but just as many ride them and are happy guys. I'd be
concerned about good welds and a strong frame... perhaps the Clydesdales can give some pointers for
you to look for.

As for the lifestyle <g> can't help you much there...

Penny S

On 2004-02-21, Tanya Miller penned:
> Hi guys, I am a beginner that's interested in getting into mountain biking. Thing is, I'm a bit on
> the heavy side and am concerned about getting a bike that can stand up to average trail riding
> even with my weight (~220lbs). Any suggestions on a make and model that will help get me into the