Kestrel = Lemon?

chestrunz

Aug 4, 2009
I'm relatively new to road cycling, having grown up in the Rocky Mountains and riding trails for the last twenty years. But my first bike was a nice Pinarello, but it was sadly stolen a couple of weeks ago. Since I know I can't get the same deal as I did with the Pinny, so I'm looking around for deals. This brings me to Kestrel.

I've seen some pretty good deals online (the ugly bikesdirect) on Kestrel Evoke and Talon, but I'm a little leary. It seems like a low price point for what you are getting. Also, the fact that they are no longer independent, and sit under the Fuji bikes umbrella, makes me worry about warranty and customer service issues. Also, I'm a big dude; 6'3" and 235 lbs. I need a sturdy bike.

What are your thoughts on Kestrel Bikes?

Thanks in advance.

chestrunz said:
I've seen some pretty good deals online (the ugly bikesdirect) on Kestrel Evoke and Talon, but I'm a little leary. It seems like a low price point for what you are getting. Also, the fact that they are no longer independent, and sit under the Fuji bikes umbrella, makes me worry about warranty and customer service issues. Also, I'm a big dude; 6'3" and 235 lbs. I need a sturdy bike.

What are your thoughts on Kestrel Bikes?
I don't know anything about Fuji taking over Kestrel, so if that is true then I would think that the warranty would be as-good-or-better than before ...

In the past, there was a recommended rider weight limitation for some frames by some manufacturers ... I don't know if Kestrel ever had a recommended weight limit, I do seem to recall that Pinarello did have a rider weight limit on one frame a few years ago, however.

Why don't you simply ASK the people at BikesDirect what the limitations are for either frameset AND what the warranty situation is?
You do know that if you crash most frames, the warranty is void, don't you?