Kevlar Tires???

shodai

Apr 15, 2013
I am planning ahead for the spring and am considering adding Kevlar (or any other type of puncture resistant tire/tube) to my existing road bike. What I am concerned with is to what extent this may result in a loss of speed? I am not a pro-athlete, I just want to bike to work which is fairly long on country roads adn the last thing I want to deal with si a flat tire at 6am on my way to work. I generally keep around 30km/h on the flats.

Does any one have any knowledge or experience with these types of tires and tubes?

Thanks for the help.

You should consider tires like Continental GP 4 Seasons and the GP4000s; Schwalbe Durano and Ultremo DD; Maxxis Re-Fuse; Michelin Pro Race 4 Endurance and Krylion (technically these are no longer being manufactured but they're still being sold in many places on the internet and in brick and mortar shops). Also, wider tires (like a 25mm or 28mm) tend to be more flat resistant than narrow tires (like 23mm tires). As a bonus, wider tires can be used at a lower pressure and will provide a ride that might be a bit more comfy. I'm sure others will chime in with suggestions. Note that no tire is truly puncture proof (well, I guess solid polyurethane tires are). Also note that you can prevent a lot of punctures just by paying attention to the road and what's on it.

Originally Posted by shodai
I am planning ahead for the spring and am considering adding Kevlar (or any other type of puncture resistant tire/tube) to my existing road bike. What I am concerned with is to what extent this may result in a loss of speed? I am not a pro-athlete, I just want to bike to work which is fairly long on country roads adn the last thing I want to deal with si a flat tire at 6am on my way to work. I generally keep around 30km/h on the flats.

Does any one have any knowledge or experience with these types of tires and tubes?

Thanks for the help.