Knee Pain

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by hoolies1, Jul 14, 2003.

1. hoolies1

hoolies1 New Member

I am very new to cycling and am having quite a bit of knee pain. I switched my pedals to clipless and that's when I noticed the pain. What are the typical things I should adjust to make the pain go away? I tried raising my seat and adjusted the cleats slightly, but didn't seem to help. Any guidlines out there anyone knows of? Good articles? Etc?
    thanks!

Tags:

2. coolworx

coolworx New Member

I had the same problem. What solved it for me was adjusting my cleats so that my toes were pointed a few degrees inward when clipped in.

What sorta ped/cleats are you using? SPD's? Look's?

3. hoolies1

hoolies1 New Member

I'm using Looks. The pain was mostly on the outside of my knee. So, inward, huh? I'll give that a try. I thought that I tried it straight, then one extreme (inward) then the other (outward). But maybe I need to try it again slightly inward. After I heal, that is. Tough sitting and standing today!
    :(

4. J-MAT

J-MAT New Member

Hoolies1:

All clipless pedal systems force your feet into unatural positions. Let your foot dangle naturally off the ground. You will probably find that the outside of your foot is lower than the inside.

This is called forefoot tilt and experiencing pain on the outside of the knee is not uncommon when you have this condition (most do) and clip into the pedals. The pedals force your feet to be unaturally flat, and this puts stress on the outside of your knee.

Get some "LeWedges." They used to be called "Big Meat" wedges. They help to restore your natural forefoot tilt when you are clipped in. They come 8 to a pack, 4 for each side. They are small plastic wedges that fit under your cleats, and help to restore the natural tilt of your feet. Get them here:

http://www.lemondfitness.com/bf/bigmeat.htm