Knee pains

LordViperScorpn

Jun 1, 2004
I am pretty new to riding. I am now in to my third week of riding and I am experienceing a pain in the lower part of my knee. I know that being new that I will have pains and I have the normal back and leg pains. I was just wondering if it was normal to have pains in my knees and joints. Any advice would be helpful thanks.

I had significant pain in both knees when I started cycling and the pain lasted for some months. I also had some knee pain before I started riding as a result of many years doing squats. The knee pain got worse when I began to cycle but eventually my knees adjusted and got used to riding.
I can give you one tip I found in a magazine and realised one little mistake I may have been making. The article recommended standing up quite frequently on the bike at medium gradients as this takes much of the pressure off the knee. What I tend to do is stay seated even on big hills and really grind with my legs. I imagine I must really be stressing my knees (although they don't ache at this time).
If your knees are really hurting go see a physio but try and find ways to de-stress them for a time (lowering your gears and riding on the flat more often). Also allow yourself some rest days during the week to give your knees a break.

Originally posted by LordViperScorpn
I am pretty new to riding. I am now in to my third week of riding and I am experienceing a pain in the lower part of my knee. I know that being new that I will have pains and I have the normal back and leg pains. I was just wondering if it was normal to have pains in my knees and joints. Any advice would be helpful thanks.

I've had knee pain, and have done a lot of research, talked with docs. and done physical therapy. Here is some of what I have learned:

1) Make sure your seat is at the correct height. If it is set too low, it will stress the patellar tendon (below the kneecap).