Knee problems since switching to clipless pedals

Bryan Mc

Feb 2, 2016
I recently switched to clipless pedals. Never had knee pain before, but after only 6 rides I'm having unsettling pain in my knees. I would appreciate any help you can provide.

Last edited by a moderator:
Your problem is obvious - it is the positioning of your feet on the pedal. And since you are used to having clips on the pedal, I guess you just have to go back using it. I had never used a clip since I am not a pro nor pretending to be one. But my real reason is the type of riding I do, a leisurely ride does not need a clip. But for good pedalers, I think you need a clip.

I recently switched to clipless pedals. Never had knee pain before, but after only 6 rides I'm having unsettling pain in my knees. I would appreciate any help you can provide.
First of all make sure that you are using cleats with a good amount of ‘float’ and make sure that your knee centre point is tracking nicely over the middle toe. If the pain is on the inside of the knee, move the heel in towards the centre of the bike and if it’s on the outside of the knee vice versa. Also, what about you saddle height, is that set correctly….? Don’t push huge gears, spin those baby’s! Most knee pain is caused 90% of the time by a poor set up. When in doubt, arrange to have a proper bike fitting.
Good Luck,
Billy

Tha
First of all make sure that you are using cleats with a good amount of ‘float’ and make sure that your knee centre point is tracking nicely over the middle toe. If the pain is on the inside of the knee, move the heel in towards the centre of the bike and if it’s on the outside of the knee vice versa. Also, what about you saddle height, is that set correctly….? Don’t push huge gears, spin those baby’s! Most knee pain is caused 90% of the time by a poor set up. When in doubt, arrange to have a proper bike fitting.
Good Luck,
Billy