L5 Intervals - How often?

Porkyboy

Apr 28, 2006
Hi

L5 intervals are very uncomfortable, how often do you need to do them per week to deliver significant benefits and how long do you think it would be before a measurable FTP improvement might be expected through such training, in your experience?

Thanks,

PBUK

i'm no scientist but as a rider who does them i think, and this is keeping in mind that taking that sort of pain is very much a mind/motivation over matter skill, then

- some people say dont do "intervals" more than twice a week
- some say only do them if and when you feel motivated, which for the average guy might not correspond to more than 2 times a week
- personally i prefer to do them in blocks of 2 or even 3 days in a row, then give it a break for the rest of the week, or more. for a while i made really quick gains in the power i could use, especially on the second day.

i think that provided you do some threshold maintenance work as well, maintaining it at say X% of max HR, then your threshold power at X% of max HR is going to respond as quickly as your gains in VO2max. this i noticed, more or less.

i also noticed that if you overdo this kind of "systemic asphyixa" (for fun) ... i coined your phrase from the other thread on that one because i really like it...then you will completely lose the will to do any intervals at all, drink losts of beer instead, and your performance willl suffer!

I wouldn't do them more than once a week, but you may want to search this forum for "L5 block training" and find differing opinions.

I've tolerated twice per week for a few weeks (not fun).

I'd leave room (motivation) in the schedule for continued L4/SST work during this period as well, so don't max out on L5.