Lance runs the Marathon, clocks a 4:51 mile

bobke

Oct 3, 2004
Time for predictions gents, will he break three hours?
Will he beat Jalabert 2:55 NYMarathon time?

The last time he ran a timed mile, he says, was a couple of years ago, when he and former fiancee Sheryl Crow were visiting her hometown in Missouri. They went to the high school track, and while Crow ran stairs, he ran a mile in a cold rain. He clocked it at 5:13.

"But I was a professional athlete then," he says. "I didn't drink margaritas every night, either."

On Thursday, it didn't take much to persuade him to try a timed mile again, this time on the quarter-mile Austin High oval track.

"Let's take bets — how fast can I do a mile?" he asks, shucking off a sweaty black T-shirt. When five minutes is suggested, he takes the challenge.

At first, it doesn't look like he's going that fast. His gait is a little stiff, his chest forward. To hit five minutes, he can't take more than 75 seconds per lap. He glances at his watch as he makes the first of four laps. "Seventy-three seconds!" he shouts as he rounds the bend. He notches 72 seconds on the second lap, and 73 on the last two, according to his watch.

His total time: 4:51.

Not bad for an old man.

bobke said:

The last time he ran a timed mile, he says, was a couple of years ago, when he and former fiancee Sheryl Crow were visiting her hometown in Missouri. They went to the high school track, and while Crow ran stairs, he ran a mile in a cold rain. He clocked it at 5:13.

"But I was a professional athlete then," he says. "I didn't drink margaritas every night, either."

On Thursday, it didn't take much to persuade him to try a timed mile again, this time on the quarter-mile Austin High oval track.

"Let's take bets — how fast can I do a mile?" he asks, shucking off a sweaty black T-shirt. When five minutes is suggested, he takes the challenge.