[langtitle=da]Varme på cyklen i de kolde dage![/langtitle]

stepes

Feb 12, 2010
[lang=da]Hi All,

I am a student at Copenhagen Business School and currently conducting research for a paper. The winter has hit Denmark hard this year and many bicyclists are often complaining about the cold weather. Therefore, I am trying to find different solutions for some sort of heating in the handlebars and bicycle seat. Thus, I need your help to find different solutions, referrals to existing solutions, or experts within the area. If you know of any creative visions I am very interested to hear about them.

Please note that I have no intentions of developing any of the ideas further, however it would be a great help for my paper.

Regards

Stephanie Espersen[/lang]

If you were to accept the considerable weight of a motorcycle battery you could use 12 volt heated gloves used by motorcyclists. And you could probably find a custom motorcycle seat builder to make a seat cover containing a 12 volt heating element as well. I would imagine (but haven't done the math) that one could expect maybe up to an hour of use before the battery voltage dropped below an effective level and needed to be recharge.

I've also used chemical heat packs while sailing to help keep my hands and feet warm. I don't know if you could fashion a cover to hold a couple of packs to the seat or not, but maybe. Whether they would be comfortable to sit on I have no idea. Just a thought. My experience is that these heat packs are effective for 3 or 4 hours and then you through them away.

I have a pair of hunting gloves that have heating elements in them. Each glove has a pouch on the back of the hand that holds a D cell battery. I don't know how long the battery would last as I never wore them more than an hour or so at one time. I'd put new batteries in them, wear them, then forget them. 2 weeks later when I wanted to use them again I'd have to put new batteries in.