Lateral strength of bicycle wheels

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by lukeevans, Oct 9, 2013.

1. lukeevans

lukeevans New Member

Hi all,

I know there was a bit of discussion about this regarding a 20" recumbent bicycle wheel a while back, but I am wondering if anybody out there could help me out.

I am a final year student of an integrated masters of engineering program and am going to investigate the lateral behaviour of a bicycle wheel when held in the upright position.

The reason why I think this is important is because I think there will be an increase in human powered load carriers which have either three or four wheels which cannot lean like the conventional bicycle. Last year I attempted to design a human powered log delivery vehicle, but got stuck on the specification of the wheels. I contacted hub manufacturers, spoke manufacturers, and wheel manufacturers who could not give me any quantifiable data and all said that if their components failed they would replace them for free. It was great to hear such confidence in their products but I would like to know a safe limit to use wheels.

I would just like to appeal to the expertise on this forum to see if anybody would like to offer ideas of how to do this. My current plan is to model a wheel in Pro Engineer and run some finite element analysis, then compare the results with hanging weights on the wheel whilst attaching strain gauges to the spokes, much like the tests people have posted on the internet to understand the stiffness of wheels. Im also interested in seeing at which point if fails and understanding where it fails, whether the spokes pull through the rim, the rim deforms, or the spokes pull through the hubs.

I'm also after some advice on some wheel manufacturers who may be interested in giving/selling me some cheap wheels to use for testing.

Cheers

Luke

Tags:

2. CAMPYBOB

CAMPYBOB Well-Known Member