Leg strength and heart rate

gr033y

Aug 5, 2006
Hi all. I'm new here and thought i'd introduce myself and ask a question also.
I'm trying to get fit and am running, cycling and doing some gym work. I have noticed that when i run i can get my heart rate into the 70% - 90% area easily, however whilst cycling my heart rate stays below this and my legs feel absolutly drained, they are the part of me that gives in first. Its frustrating because i feel like my rides are not benefitting me as much as my running. Last ride lasted 40 min and after 15 my legs had had it even though i felt quite strong heart wise. I'm new to all of this so any tips would be great.

gr033y said:
Hi all. I'm new here and thought i'd introduce myself and ask a question also.
I'm trying to get fit and am running, cycling and doing some gym work. I have noticed that when i run i can get my heart rate into the 70% - 90% area easily, however whilst cycling my heart rate stays below this and my legs feel absolutly drained, they are the part of me that gives in first. Its frustrating because i feel like my rides are not benefitting me as much as my running. Last ride lasted 40 min and after 15 my legs had had it even though i felt quite strong heart wise. I'm new to all of this so any tips would be great.
what gear(s) do you typically ride in?

FrankBattle said:
what gear(s) do you typically ride in?

Hi, thanks for the reply. I try to ride in a gear that lets me spin at about 90rpm so i dont hink i'm in to high a gear?

gr033y said:
Hi, thanks for the reply. I try to ride in a gear that lets me spin at about 90rpm so i dont hink i'm in to high a gear?
Because you spin at 90 rpms doesn't mean you are not in too high a gear. So, you are on the big ring up front and your cassette is where ..?

Anyway, my point was to suggest that you may be in too high a gear. If you can't spin the gear for most of your ride, then it is maybe too high for your leg strength ..