Life Expectancy of Bike Equipment

Banlioch

Apr 28, 2005
I am a bit new to this, but I have been looking at buying a used 1995 Trek 5200 with Shimano 600 components. It has new tires, a new seat, and new chain. I am not very familiar with this line of gears and shifters. Should I worry about 10 year old components or should they be ok to get me going? Will I be looking forward to replacing the group in the near future? Thanks for your help.

Banlioch said:
I am a bit new to this, but I have been looking at buying a used 1995 Trek 5200 with Shimano 600 components. It has new tires, a new seat, and new chain. I am not very familiar with this line of gears and shifters. Should I worry about 10 year old components or should they be ok to get me going? Will I be looking forward to replacing the group in the near future? Thanks for your help.
How long is a rope? Honestly, there is no way to know.If the bike is near mint it may have been a garage hanger and the stuff could be like new, with lots of life. It could have also been rode hard and put away wet and could be trash just looking for a place to go TU. I have no problem buying older frames and building them with newer parts. Older complete bikes can be ok depending on condition and price, but I generally avoid them....Shifters are the expensive part. And the 8 speed stuff is essentially out of print except for low end Sora or special order,STR-500s

Banlioch said: