Life expectancy of cycling shoes?

neilkod

Sep 8, 2003
I've been wearing Specialized Sport Mountain shoes for about 6 months and have logged approximately 1200 miles in them via mountain biking and spinning.

Lately, my feet are starting to hurt during my rides.

My position/technique haven't changed much as far as I can tell. I'm thinking my shoes may be the culprit; could they be overused and no longer provide the support that they used to?

I'm wondering how long I can expect my shoes to 'last'. This is my first pair of cycling shoes and I want to know if what I'm experiencing is in line with a low-end pair of shoes.

Originally posted by neilkod
I've been wearing Specialized Sport Mountain shoes for about 6 months and have logged approximately 1200 miles in them via mountain biking and spinning.

My position/technique haven't changed much as far as I can tell. I'm thinking my shoes may be the culprit; could they be overused and no longer provide the support that they used to?

I'm wondering how long I can expect my shoes to 'last'. This is my first pair of cycling shoes and I want to know if what I'm experiencing is in line with a low-end pair of shoes.
try getting some replacement insoles.

What pedal system are you using? If an element of your pedal or cleat is wearing down, it could be allowing for some subtle shift or roll that's straining your foot. Might you be due for a fresh cleat?

Originally posted by lokstah
What pedal system are you using? If an element of your pedal or cleat is wearing down, it could be allowing for some subtle shift or roll that's straining your foot. Might you be due for a fresh cleat?

Interesting point...I'm using SPD cleats. A former dealer said my cleats look ok.

From what its worth, this feels like another bout with plantar fasciatis(sp).

Interesting point...I'm using SPD cleats. A former dealer said my cleats look ok.

From what its worth, this feels like another bout with plantar fasciatis(sp).