Life-span of a Helmet?

Ugur

Nov 10, 2004
Hi, I heard from a friend of mine that helmets have a life span of 2-3 years. He told that it is because of UVs, sweating,...etc.'s wearing effect. It didn't make much sense for me, is there sth like that?

Thats about right and its mostly due to sweat i think. But one crash and you hit your helmet,replace it.

Ugur said:
Hi, I heard from a friend of mine that helmets have a life span of 2-3 years. He told that it is because of UVs, sweating,...etc.'s wearing effect. It didn't make much sense for me, is there sth like that?

Your friend is right.
Sunlight damages plastics and glues. And you lucky people in Turkey get a lot of sunshine.

fixit said:
Your friend is right.
Sunlight damages plastics and glues. And you lucky people in Turkey get a lot of sunshine.
Good news, I've been looking for an excuse to justify buying a new helmet:)

I've been wearing the same helmet for about 12 years now. There's no need to replace a helmet every couple years unless it is damaged (meaning more than scratched-up).

TD

tyler_derden said:
I've been wearing the same helmet for about 12 years now. There's no need to replace a helmet every couple years unless it is damaged (meaning more than scratched-up).

TD
The original post is indeed true, although the 2-3 years number can vary a lot depending on several factors. "Most" bicycle helmets are made from ABS and/or polycarbonate. In their natural states, neither is a very good performer where ultraviolet radiation is concerned. The most important factor for a helmet's performance is impact resistance. Unstabilized versions of either of these resins lose a large percentage of that property very quickly. Stabilized versions have a significantly longer life span... out to a maximum of approximately 7 years dependant upon the grade of polymer, type of stabilizer used, and the amount of stabilizer used.