Light recommendation

noonievut

Jul 5, 2004
I just started riding to the train station where I catch a commuter train to work. I'm not sure if I should get a light for my bike (riding in daylight now, will get darker in the coming months). I would appreciate feedback from the experience commuters out there. Note - I have reflectors and a blinking light on the back of the bike. Here is some info about my commute:

- only a 10 minute ride
- I can ride on the road (very little traffic), or a sidewalk, or a path through a park (my current route uses a combination of these)
- there are streetlights on most of my existing route, and I can ride under even more streetlights if I stick to the sidewalks

As I have not ridden at night yet, I'm not sure if this route is lit well enough by the streetlights, or how I feel about it. My concerns are being seen (I can accomplish that with the reflectors and blinking lights) and seeing obstacles in front of me. I know (from mountain biking) that high-end lights are expensive...and for my short commute I just don't think it's worth getting a $200-$400 lighting system. So any thoughts?

There's another issue you haven't mentioned, legality. It may be that you are required to have a headlight after dark, but back to topic.
There are many good headlights for the type of use you need. Even in the $25 to $30 range, the technology of today will give you a good bright light with a fairly wide illumination field. Please get something up front. You'll realize after it's there how much you missed it.

same prob here any specific recommendations? any ones you'r stay away from? i'd prefer not to fork out 200-300 usd dave t

Cateye. They usually produce good stuff. The Cateye micro halogen, and Cateye power opticube(model HL-EL510/520) are super little lights and can be had all over the place for under $30. They run on "AA" batteries and the later will make it 20+ hours on lowish setting. It's my current backup/standlight.