Litespeed Veneto/Merlin Extralight

fredf

Apr 8, 2004
I am 6'0", 175lbs, 50yr old and looking for a comfortable ride to do fitness cycling on. I would like it to be efficient (particulary up hills) but also want comfort...I'm new to road biking.
I have decided on Ti for long life and comfort/sportiness.
My LBS has a deal on Litespeed Veneto (Ultegra built) which they say is good geometry for me (after a bike fit) and say it will suit the riding I want to do. It's $3000Cdn.
Then the salesman showed me a 2000 or 2001 Merlin Extralight with dura-ace for $3600 (it's used) and said 'nothing touches a Merlin). Also said the geometry would be perfect for me.

Questions:
...I find very few reviews of Litespeed Venetos. Is it better than a Solano (very much the same price) for my type of riding (salesman says Solano isn't good in his opinion). Veneto is at least cold worked but very little tube manipulation...is is better than a Firenze?
...The Merlin doesn't have the hourglass seat stays they started doing in 2001...will the Merlin frame he showed me (doesn't have hourglass seatstay) be too noodly or not 'refined' enough?

Any advice?

Questions:
...I find very few reviews of Litespeed Venetos. Is it better than a Solano (very much the same price) for my type of riding (salesman says Solano isn't good in his opinion). Veneto is at least cold worked but very little tube manipulation...is is better than a Firenze?
...The Merlin doesn't have the hourglass seat stays they started doing in 2001...will the Merlin frame he showed me (doesn't have hourglass seatstay) be too noodly or not 'refined' enough?

Any advice? [/B][/QUOTE] I cannot comment about the Litespeed bikes, but I can about the Merlin. I have a 2004 Extralight. Of all the bikes in my stable (and I have quite a few), I enjoy this bike the most. It's very stable and very, very comfortable. With a lightweight build, you should be able to tackle most any situation. I truly enjoy this bike.