Long Distance training help?

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by Mantana, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Mantana

Mantana New Member

Im pretty new to the road biking world, I started riding at the beginning of last summer, but I have done a lot of mountain biking, anyway

Im planning a multi-state biking trip in august and Im am looking for tips on how to train to get me in the best condition sot it in the next 3 1/2 months, any workout routines or past experiences would be greatly appreciated

Tags:

2. jpr95

jpr95 Active Member

Lots of miles.

You're not training for a race, so you don't need all the technical training stuff. Just ride until you can sustain 10-15 MPH for up to 6-8 hours at a time. If you don't have much time during the week, you can do shorter rides (1-1.5 hours), but push yourself a little more, then on the weekends, ride a little easier, but for much greater times/distances.

Jason

3. swampy1970

swampy1970 Well-Known Member