look keo classic

fusion5151

Oct 18, 2009
Hey i am new to this forum in the perpective of posting but i'm a vid reader of the forum. I had a question about the Look KeO classic pedal's. i am new to road cycling and would like to invest in some clipless pedals? would this pedal be good for a beginner? are there any other pedals i should look out for that would be ideal for me? is there any good inexpensive shoes for a beginner that is compatible with the Look Keo Pedals? Thanks and i appriciate everyone that can contribute their expertise in cycling. Thanks!!

I agree Keo Classic is as good of a first choice as any for a road pedal (I use Keo Sprint). You might want to consider the more general issue of whether you want double-sided or single-sided pedals, where the latter requires you to flip the pedal over to engage. Some find double-sided easier.

For shoes, I am still using my first ones from 4 years ago, which were the cheapest I could find at the time. I picked a low-end Shimano shoe, and it is still working fine (cost around US$60). An important factor when picking a shoe is to make sure it accomodates the cleat that goes with the pedal..

Thanks for your imput.. i think i will try out the Look KeO Classic or maybe even the sprint depending on the pricing and the advancement in the technology.. as far as the shoes i think i will follow your choice and go with some inexpensive shoes since i am relatively new to clipless ( but im sure im going to love it).. I'm going to try and search for the triangle cleat pattern to go with the Look Keo pedals. Thanks for the imput and i will post updates of how the experience goes.

nbfman said:
I agree Keo Classic is as good of a first choice as any for a road pedal (I use Keo Sprint). You might want to consider the more general issue of whether you want double-sided or single-sided pedals, where the latter requires you to flip the pedal over to engage. Some find double-sided easier.