Looking for a book suggestion.

Thrive

Jan 2, 2014
Greetings all,

I'm a personal trainer with a rigorous training program, but towards the end of this year I'd like to start getting into my first laid back competitions, of as yet unknown length. What I'm hoping to find is a book that gives good detail quality training advice for a competitor, though not professional level, but also not for someone that is picking out their first bike. I'm looking for as specific and scientifically backed advice as possible by whatever book(s) I choose, so I was hoping for some good suggestions from the community.

Thank you!

You're a trainer with a rigorous training program looking for...a training program?

Alllrighty, then!

"Beginning Bicycle Racing" by Fred Matheny "Bicycle Road Racing: The Complete Program for Training and Competition" by Edward Borysewicz "Cycling Health and Physiology: Using Sports Science To Improve Your Riding and Racing" by Ed R. Burke

Yeah, the same Ed Burke that set up the 1984 Olympic Games blood doping scheme.

This website: http://www.startbikeracing.com/index.php/road-racing/road-racing

Good luck and have fun.

Thank you both for the suggestions! Is there one specific one you'd suggest for someone with at least 6 months to build a good base? I will be picking up more later but have a gift card to split between a few subjects and would love to start with what you guys would see as the main must have book for the non-pro. Danke!

OP, if you're a trainer with almost any level of training under your belt, you are very likely to be in good enough shape to enter rookie-level (Cat. 5 or Citizen's level) criteriums and road/circuit races. This is assuming you work on your cardio and are not solely a body builder/weight lifter.