Looking for advice on training regime

Paul—p

Oct 21, 2019
So I’m relatively new to road cycling (2.5 months in). Average pace is pretty decent 20-21.5mph for 20-30 miles (solo)

at the moment I’m not interested in investing into a coach but I’m pretty much clueless on how to schedule training. Getting a power meter soon to figure out my ftp but not sure how I will use that data to improve.

Does anyone have any know-how or tips on how to make a schedule that would fit for my level of rider. My goal would be to bring up distance and endurance up to 50 mile rides and keep the same speed up the whole time.

also might be important to mention I’m around 19 and 110lbs. Not really needing much in the way of weight loss and I’m getting to my prime. I don’t struggle with anything in particular I just am looking to improve overall.

last couple rides:
20 miles @21.1mph (most recent)
16.8miles @20.4 mph
31.30 miles @ 19.4 mph
16.7 miles @21.5mph
29.50 miles @20.4mph

Last edited:
Hi, it would be good to come up with some structure of training, it will help you and your body to adapt to specific workouts and track progress.

Example week:

Monday - OFF
Thursday - Endurance/Tempo/Threshold
Wednesday - Easy Endurance
Thursday - Threshold/VO2 max
Friday - OFF
Saturday - Intervals, Neuromuscular Power, Anaerobic Capacity
Sunday - Long Endurance

It is good to start with FTP (Functional Threshold Power) Test https://cyklopedia.cc/cycling-tips/what-is-ftp-in-cycling/
set up your zones https://cyklopedia.cc/cycling-tips/heart-rate-zones-and-power-zones/ and here is more about TSS (Training Stress Score) to have a better understanding how much training you should do https://cyklopedia.cc/cycling-tips/what-is-training-stress-score-tss-cycling/ I hope it helps a little, let me know if you have more questions.