Looking for entry level road bike in the 500-1000 price rang

Whereswaldow118

Oct 1, 2011
Ive been riding hybrid bikes for a while now, but I've been looking into something with more speed that I can take longer distances even faster. However I am very new to the whole idea of road cycling and my budget is considerably small...

Based on my limited experience, major manufacturers have each other firmly in their sights and the buyer is in a Coke v Pepsi / Camry v Accord situation.... six vs half-a-dozen. I'd choose the LBS instead: friendly, helpful (with measuring, setup). Large ones offer a discount of about 10% off MSRP and may have prev-year models considerably cheaper.

Unless you know what you're doing, I'd stay off the used market.

What Bartsie says about used is spot on. I've had too many customers with bikes they bought for $500 on craigslist that needed $400 in repairs and replacement parts. Projects are fine for experienced home mechanics who know the true value of a five year old bike with a shifter that might be useless, have boxes of old parts, lines on new parts, the time and experience to put in sweat equity, and a reliable bike they can use in the mean time.

Major manufacturers with excellent road bikes in your price range, in no particular order: Trek, Specialized, Cannondale, Scott, Felt, Giant. Have I left anyone out? I'm not to crazy about Fuji's lowest tier, but the Roubaix line at the next price level is nice and often deeply discounted.

I agree with Bart and Oldbob that you need to know what you're doing if you buy a used bike via a private seller......

But,