Looking for nice rides in Auckland?

scho047

Sep 4, 2006
Hi,

I am new to this road cycling scene, started out to just fulfil my rehabilitation programme for my knee and now have fallen in love with it. Would be nice to hear from fellow cyclists around auckland to suggest nice rides in Auckland.

and how often do you guys ride each week??

cheers

I live in Ponsonby area.... Ive looked at those links you have suggested...they seem pretty nice ride to give it a go....

I would however prefer to cycle where there are less traffic so that I feel more safe...at the moment I am going out to Mission Bay to St Heliers and back to Herne Bay and to Ponsonby along waterfront and Tamaki Dr.
Got any other suggestions??

scho047 said:
I live in Ponsonby area.... Ive looked at those links you have suggested...they seem pretty nice ride to give it a go....

I would however prefer to cycle where there are less traffic so that I feel more safe...at the moment I am going out to Mission Bay to St Heliers and back to Herne Bay and to Ponsonby along waterfront and Tamaki Dr.
Got any other suggestions??
I used to live in Ponsonby in 1979 - 81 and used to ride out to Muriwai and Piha - both nice rides. I don't know what they're like now - haven't been there since 1982.

imo the best way to go from ponsonby / central auckland is out thru pt chev, along the motorway cycle lane then up into the hills behind massey. Most of the way it's cycle lane, and then a few quieter roads, with a few decent hills.

mrf said:
imo the best way to go from ponsonby / central auckland is out thru pt chev, along the motorway cycle lane then up into the hills behind massey. Most of the way it's cycle lane, and then a few quieter roads, with a few decent hills.
When I lived in Auckland, the western motorway cycle path didn't exist. The link appears to be a great improvement. Whats the quality of it like? Does it get a lot of riders?

mikesbytes said: